Entry for August 13, 2006

As expected I have not logged any entries this last week from my travels.  I drove over 1000 miles through Kingsville, Kemah, Houston and Beaumont & back.  The work was productive and I got everything done – two orders signed by two different judges.  It seemed smooth, but I know it would not have gone so well had I  not been there.

While there was good work done, I did continue my golf rounds.  Wednesday I played at Houston Country Club with Ed and Kate and that was enjoyable.  The course was very green and I had to get used to the trees again.  The old pro shop has been torn down and a new one is under construction in the same spot.  Other than that, not much changes out there.  Round scored:  90.

On Thursday, after court, Ed and I went to Tyrrell Park in Beaumont to play our “old course”, now called Henry Homburg Golf Course after the longtime pro and friend of Wilton and Ed’s in the 1940s and 1950s.  There was a new clubhouse there as well, and after paying, we headed to the first tee.  On the third hole, we realized what we thought was the first tee had changed in the last 20 years.  We were on the back side!

The course looked similar, but had lost a few trees so it was more wide open.  The tees had been reshaped and the course played longer so it was a good test.  We finished just as it began to rain.  Score:  88.

Saturday I played at Los Lagos in Edinburg with our new friends Jesse Naranjo and  his son Daniel Naranjo.  They are avid golfers having returned from a trip to Pebble Beach.  They are both excellent players.  The wind was really blowing, 20mph + and we played from the very back tees.  I was proud that I played as hard as I could:  I made 3  birdies and chipped in twice.  The heroics resulted in a respectable 88 under the conditions.  It felt like a 78.

Then today I played in a tournament for the Palmer Drug Abuse Program, one of my favorite charities.  PDAP is a drug/alcohol treatment program for teenagers and young people.  It provides counseling plus a safe place to be after school and during free time.  No score to report since it was a scramble tournament.  I contributed to the the team though.   There were a lot of people there so I think it was a success and good money was raised for a good cause.

Sarah starts school tomorrow so my schedule will be changing from 8:30 to 5:00 to 7:30 to 4:00.  Those summer hours for sleeping later will be coming to an end – too bad!  She is looking forward to the 7th grade.   I anticipate another successful year.

I am not sure I will keep up this golf frenzy but I hope to keep the edge a little bit.  For all the time I have put in over the years, it seems like a good idea to stay sharp.  It does take time though.

Leave a comment